January 16 - 18 | 2020
The International Centre | Toronto

Industry Events

CHFA's Gala

The International Centre, Conference Centre - Friday, May 24

6900 Airport Road, Mississauga, ON L4V 1E8



As Chair of the CHFA Events Committee I would like to take this opportunity to wish everyone a healthy and prosperous new year. It is my honour to announce the recipients of the 2019 Canadian Home Furnishings Awards. The awards gala will be held on Friday, May 24, 2019 at the Conference Centre next to The International Centre in the Orion Ballrooms B and C. Please take special note of the new day of the week and venue. We have teamed up with the Canadian Furniture Show to better co-ordinate our events to better serve our joint customers.

John Power
Chair, Events Committee


Lifetime Achievement & Retailer of the Year Awards



The Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance will honour Daniel Walker, President of Jaymar Inc. with the 2019 LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD. The CHFA established the award to recognize those individuals who over their career have made exemplary and sustained contributions to the Canadian home furnishings industry and their communities. Daniel, his family and fore-fathers have been part of the Canadian furniture manufacturing world for well over 30 years. Instrumental in fashion forward Canadian casegood and upholstery design and production techniques.




The RETAILER OF THE YEAR AWARD is dedicated to recognizing exemplary models of excellence and community services by Canadian furniture businesses. The recipient of the 2019 Retailer of the Year Award is La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. The group of independent Canadian retailers making up this iconic brand has flourished in recent years. Most notably the expansion of it's presence in the GTA, now with a total of 12 stores owned and operated by Paul Hogeboom. Their Canadian network has over 32 stand alone locations employing well over 500 Canadians. Mr. Hogeboom will be accepting this award on behalf of the network.



On behalf of the CHFA Board of Directors and the Events Committee I would like to congratulate Daniel Walker recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Awards and La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries recipient of the Retailer of the Year Award. I look forward to seeing you at the 2019 Canadian Home Furnishings Awards. Please encourage your colleagues to attend this important industry event.


Important changes

This year there will be two important changes to the awards gala. In previous years the gala was held on the evening before the opening day of the Canadian Furniture Show. In 2019, the event will be held on the first evening of the furniture show which is Friday, May 24th. The Show will close on Sunday, May 26th. The gala will return to the Conference Centre next to The International Centre in Ballrooms B and C. These changes will make it more convenient for the attendees to the awards gala and furniture show. The Canadian Furniture Show will host a reception on May 24th for attendees to the awards gala and furniture show.



Guest speaker

Our guest speaker will provide you with his economic outlook and answer your questions.


He is Mike Holden, Chief Economist for the Canadian Manufacturers' & Exporters Association (CME).

Mike brings over 20 years of experience as an economist and public policy analyst. He leads CME's economic analysis and forecasting functions and plays a key role in policy research and setting CME's strategic agenda for government advocacy on behalf of manufacturers and exporters across Canada.

As the director of CME's major research projects, Mike has written on a wide range of issues important to manufacturers including tax competitiveness, NAFTA and female representation in the manufacturing workforce. In addition, Mike regularly speaks across Canada about the economy and the issues and challenges facing Canadian manufacturers.

At one time Mike was the Senior Economist at the Canada West Foundation, where he managed the foundation's economic analysis and fiscal policy research agenda. He worked on a number of major public policy issues including energy development, fiscal federalism, infrastructure investment and resource revenue savings.

Mike spent nine years in Ottawa at the Library of Parliament, providing research and analysis to Members of Parliament on a range of economic, policy and trade issues. He was lead analyst for both the House of Commons Standing Committee on International Trade, and the Canadian section of the Pan-American parliamentary association.

Mike has a BA in honours economics from the University of Alberta and a MA in economics from Queen's University.


Buy tickets


You may register on-line or contact Murray Vaughan directly at 905 678-4678 or murray@chfaweb.ca to purchase tickets to the Canadian Home Furnishings Awards. Sponsorship opportunities are also available. Once you click on the SUBMIT button you will receive an order/acknowledgement via e-mail with message that an e-mail confirmation will be sent once the order/registration has been processed.




CANCELLATION POLICY: Registration(s) may not be cancelled once they have been submitted.

Web Design by Acolyte